File now to run for office

ARLINGTON — The time is now, June 1 - 5, to file and launch your campaign to run for office for county council, city councils, school boards and various other taxing districts, like fire districts and water districts.

In addition, Write-in candidates can file June 8 - Aug. 17, but they won’t be on the ballot. Any one who files and then changes their mind has from June 2 - 11 to withdraw and there is a lot drawing for all candidates at the Snohomish County Auditor’s Office at 9 a.m. on June 8 to determine the order of candidates in the Voter’s Guide.

In order to run for County Council, a candidate must be registered in and a resident of Snohomish County for at least three years and a citizen of the United States over the age of 21 upon the date set for this election. Since County Council offices are partisan, candidates will be required to declare a political party preference when filing.

For city councils, a candidate must be a registered voter of the city at the time of filing and a resident of the city at least one year preceding election, except in Darrington and Index where there is no minimum time for residency.

Positions available include County Council District 1 currently held by John Koster (R).

Arlington Council position 1 currently held by Steve Baker, position 2 held by Chris Raezer, position 3 held by Scott Solla and the Arlington Council-At-Large position held by Graham Smith are up for re-election.

Arlington School District 16 has two positions open, currently held by Director Carolyn E. Erickson and Robert McClure.

Lakewood School District 306 has three terms ending, in positions currently held by Oscar D. Escalante, Ellen E. Phillips and Ken J. Christiansen

Local fire districts also have opening, including Marysville Fire District 12 and 14 (Warm Beach), 18 (Bryant), 19 (Silvana) 21 (Arlington Heights), and 22 (Getchell).

Also open are Marysville City Council positions 1 — Jeffrey D. Vaughan, 2 — Donna M. Wright, 3 — Jeff Seibert, 4 — Jon Nehring and Marysville Municipal Court Position 1 — Fred Gillings. Two positions, districts 1 and 4, of the Marysville School District, Don Hatch Jr. and A. Michael Kundu, are also up for re-election.

Fire District openings:

Fire Dist 12 Commissioner Position 2 — David Demarco

Fire Dist 12 Commissioner Position 3 — Marilyn Sheldon

Fire Dist 14 Commissioner Position 2

— Stuart Lervick

Fire Dist 16 Commissioner Position 2 — Jerry Ellis

Fire Dist 17 Commissioner Position 2 — Dean Steinke

Fire Dist 18 Commissioner Position 3 — Don Wright

Fire Dist 19 Commissioner Position 2 — Michael Knudson

Fire Dist 21 Commissioner Position 2 — Jack A. Hake

Fire Dist 22 Commissioner Position 2 — Bennett Butters

Fire Dist 25 Commissioner Position 3 — Adranne Klesick

Hospital Dist 3 Comm. Position 3 — Margo E. Powell, 6 Year Term, No Fee

Hospital Dist 3 Comm. Position 4 — Steve Peterson, 6 Year Term, No Fee

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.