Candidates file for Marysville City Council, School Board

MARYSVILLE — With majorities of both the Marysville City Council and the Marysville School Board, as well as Marysville's Mayor, up for grabs this year, candidates began filing this week to run in the 2011 election. Candidates wanting to run can file through Friday.

Two candidates have filed to run for Marysville's Mayor including the incumbent Jon Nehring, who was appointed when former-Mayor Dennis Kendall stepped down, and Kelly Wright. Five people have, as of 2 p.m. Tuesday, filed to run for the 4 seats on the Marysville City Council which will appear on the ballot. Michael Stevens has filed to run for Position 4, a seat which he currently holds since being appointed by the Council to fill the vacancy left when then-Council member Nehring was appointed Mayor. Rob Toyer has filed for Position 5. Katherine Smith and Stephen Muller have filed to run for Position 6 and incumbent Carmen Rasmussen has filed to run for Position 7.

The Marysville School District has four Director seats that will be up for election this year. Incumbent Cindy Erickson has filed to run in District 2. Peter Lundberg and Rod Reiger have both filed for District 3 and Tom Albright has filed for District, a seat he has held since being appointed to the board. As of 2 p.m. on Tuesday, no one had filed to run for Position 4.

For more information about the election, go to the Snohomish County Elections and Voter Registration Division's website.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.