Marysville Rotary presents Paul Harris Fellowship awards

MARYSVILLE — The Marysville Rotary Club installed its new officers for the year July 14, while honoring nine community members with the Rotary's highest recognition, the Paul Harris Fellowship awards.

Incoming Past President Larry Trivett explained that the awards are named for the founder of Rotary International and are intended to honor those who exemplify the Rotary motto of "service above self."

Outgoing Public Relations Board member Mike Leighan presented an award to Tasha Branch, who will continue on as the International Service Board member. He credited her with arranging housing, transportation and field trips for the Brazilian Rotarians as part of the exchange program.

"The continuation of this group depends on the next generation, and Tasha is a great example of that," Leighan said.

Marysville Police Cmdr. Robb Lamoureux and Fire Chief Greg Corn jointly presented Greg Kanehen, pastor of the Marysville Free Methodist Church, with his award. They praised him for working "quietly behind the scenes, with patience and persistence," on projects ranging from the Marysville Community Coalition to the "Serve Marysville Days," as well as programs such as the Global Family Alliance.

"His leadership has brought together a diversity of clergy in Marysville," Corn said.

Outgoing Rotary District 5050 Governor Larry Jubie, who was commended for his own term of service, gave Paul Harris Fellow Terry Earnheart his second award pin and recalled their decade of Rotary service together. Jubie singled out Earnheart for his work at the Smokey Point Plant Farm annual pumpkin patch, but noted that he also drives a truck for the Marysville Community Food Bank.

"He's running around town all the time, doing for others," Jubie said.

Retired Marysville School District educator John Waldrop received his Paul Harris fellowship award from incoming fellow awardee Don Whitfield. John Waldrop began teaching at the Liberty and Pinewood elementary schools in 1979, continued teaching at Cascade Elementary and served as principal at the Marshall, Shoultes and Kellogg Marsh elementary schools, the latter of which he retired from this year.

"The kids at his schools always loved him," Whitfield said.

Loren Van Loo presented Whitfield with his own award for "leading by example" by serving on the boards of the Marysville YMCA and Senior Services of Snohomish County, as well as co-chairing the Citizens for Marysville Schools for the Feb. 9 bond measure and operations levy.

Harv Jubie gave Paul Harris Fellow Tom Thetford his second award pin, for working ranging from volunteering at the Christmas House to taking part in six years of Rotary service trips to Guatemala, while Lori Butner surprised Terry Freeman with his award. Butner noted that Freeman had turned down an opportunity to play for the New York Yankees to work in education instead, and cited him with helping start the Tulalip Boys and Girls Club.

Daryn Bundy, returning for another term as Board Secretary, and Kelly Richards, who will stay on as the Pumpkin Patch Chair, awarded pumpkin farmer Lloyd Frazier for keeping their pumpkin patch stocked at affordable prices, even during poor producing seasons when Frazier could have charged much more for his crop. Trivett concluded the awards by recognizing Paul Harris Fellow Joyce Lybyer, an Arlington elementary school teacher who has volunteered at the Marysville Community Food Bank and gone on mission trips since retiring in 2003.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.