Marysville Globe


Rotary Club of Marysville holds installation banquet | SLIDESHOW

Marysville Globe Reporter
July 3, 2013 · 10:45 AM

From left, President Daryn Bundy, Vocational Service Chair Nancy Knutson, Treasurer Gayl Spilman, Public Relations Chair Brian Peplnjak, President Elect Deirdre Kvangnes, New Generations Co-Chair Dale Leach, Community Service Chair Debbie Barger Smith, Sergeant-At-Arms Bob DeFever, Pumpkins For Literacy CoChair Dave Edmonds, Secretary Eric Spencer, International Service Chair Kim Kron, Programs Chair Toni Mathews and Past President Kelly Peterson are the Marysville Rotary’s Board for 2013-14. / Kirk Boxleitner

MARYSVILLE — The Rotary Club of Marysville’s annual installation banquet for its new Board on Wednesday, June 26, again included presentations of Paul Harris Awards to local citizens for their efforts on behalf of the community as a whole.

In one of his final acts as Marysville School District superintendent, Dr. Larry Nyland presented two Paul Harris Awards, one to Marysville YMCA interim Director J.J. Frank for his work with the Minority Achievers Program, and another to Lynn Lewis, senior manager of education at United Way of Snohomish County.

“Students who stay in MAP have a graduation rate of 85 percent,” Nyland said. “J.J. has made a real difference in individual children’s lives, giving them a more positive future with his can-do spirit.”

Nyland likewise credited Lewis with recruiting volunteers for Marysville schools, distributing free books to prepare Marysville children for school, and establishing after-school programs.

While Marysville Rotary incoming International Service Chair Kim Kron nominated Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring for his work with his church and as a coach of several area youth sports, outgoing International Service Chair Terry Brandon nominated Melinda Young on behalf of absent fellow Rotarian Tasha Branch, noting Young’s 23 years of service as an adult mentor to local Girl Scouts.

As he transitioned from president to past president of the Marysville Rotary Club, Kelly Peterson noted that 65 percent of Rotarians drop out within their first five years, so he encouraged Rotarians old and new alike to “rejoin for the right reasons.”

Incoming President Daryn Bundy joined Peterson in reflecting on the Marysville Rotary’s past year of accomplishments, from its mission trip to Guatemala to its Pumpkins for Literacy program.

“We’re a proud yet humble club, that hasn’t had one repeat for president yet,” Bundy said. “Events like the economic downturn of six years ago only made it more incumbent upon us to help others.”

The Marysville Rotary’s remaining incoming Board members include Deirdre Kvangnes as president elect, Don Whitfield as membership and Education Foundation chair, Eric Spencer as secretary, Gayl Spilman as treasurer, Mike Leighan as club service chair, Nancy Knutson as vocational service chair, Debbie Barger Smith as community service chair, Brian Peplnjak as public relations chair, Dale Leach and Richard Smith as New Generations co-chairs, Tony Mathews as programs chair, Bob DeFever as sergeant-at-arms, Dave Edmonds and Tim O’Rourke as Pumpkins for Literacy co-czars, and Chris Nation as the club’s website administrator.


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us